The Royal Anglian Regiment

The Regiment was formed on 1 September 1964 as the first of the new large infantry regiments, through the amalgamation of the four regiments of the East Anglian Brigade:

1st (Norfolk and Suffolk) Battalion from the 1st Battalion of the 1st East Anglian Regiment

2nd (Duchess of Gloucester's Own Lincolnshire and Northamptonshire) Battalion - 1st Battalion, 2nd East Anglian Regiment

3rd (16th/44th Foot) Battalion - 1st Battalion, 3rd East Anglian Regiment

4th (Leicestershire) Battalion - 1st Battalion, Royal Leicestershire Regiment.

The Royal Anglian Regiment was established to serve as the county regiment for the following counties:

Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Rutland and Suffolk.

Initially formed of seven battalions (four regular and three Territorial Army), the regiment was reduced in 1975 with the loss of the 4th (Leicestershire) Battalion to three regular battalions and three TA. The regiment was reduced again in 1992 to two regular and two TA battalions with the loss of the 3rd (16th/44th Foot) and 5th Battalions.

In 1995, each Battalion renamed its companies in order to perpetuate its lineage from the old county regiments. The current structure is as follows:

1st Battalion 'The Vikings'

A (Royal Norfolk) Company

B (Suffolk) Company

C (Essex) Company

D (Cambridgeshire Company

2nd Battalion 'The Poachers'

A (Royal Lincolnshire) Company

B (Royal Leicestershire) Company

C (Northamptonshire) Company

D (Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire) Company

3rd Battalion 'The Steelbacks'

1 (Norfolk) Company

2 (Leicester) Company

3 (Essex & Northamptonshire) Company

4 (Lincolnshire) Company

HQ (Suffolk & Cambridgeshire) Company